A Vegan Diet’s Effect On Hair And Nails

Since my transition to veganism, I can see a huge difference in my hair and nails. (Especially my nails). My nails have become much stronger and have stopped breaking and bending. The growth of my nails has almost doubled in speed and I find myself needing to cut them every second day or so.

My hair has definitely become stronger as well. I have very fine hair and I would usually lose a lot of hair throughout the day. I’ve noticed that this hair loss has almost stopped (or at least I don’t notice it anymore). I’ve experienced no dry ends or split ends and my hair is in the best condition it has been in, in years.

I’ve read a lot about people (who have transitioned to a plant-based diet) noticing rapid growth of their hair. My hair has always grown fast so I didn’t notice much of a difference (although I still have 2 inch roots).

I follow a high carb, low fat, plant-based diet which consists predominantly of fruits and vegetables. I’m not sure if I would have gotten the same results with my hair and nails if I had of been eating vegan ‘junk food’ (Heavily processed foods) although it still would have been an improvement to eating the amount of animal products I was eating prior to my transition.

-The Vegan Lily

5 thoughts on “A Vegan Diet’s Effect On Hair And Nails

  1. The nails thing is so true! I used to bite and pick at my nails so badly then when I went vegan I just couldn’t anymore. They were too strong! Now I need to cut them, like all the time. But it’s a good thing really. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

