Can a Vegan Diet Cure Hay Fever?

I certainly believe so. I have always had terrible hay fever – Runny nose, itchy eyes, itchy throat etc. And each year I took drugs from the chemist but they never fully worked. They might of relieved the symptoms by a fraction, but never succeeded in getting rid of the hay fever itself.

So this is my first summer on a vegan diet and I was amazing and thrilled when I discovered that I did not have any hay fever symptoms. Until a few weeks ago when I went to a local pub (and had about two pints of Heineken). I woke up the next morning with a blocked nose. This lasted a few days and then the symptoms wore away. The next weekend I had another few drinks – about a pint of Heinikin and a glass of champagne. Again, the next morning my hay fever had come back. So it took me about a week to realise that alcohol might have a bit of an influence on my hay fever. And so, I decided to completely cut alcohol out of my diet (for now, at least). As expected, it is as though I don’t have hay fever at all. No stuffy nose, no itchy eyes, no itchy throat.

I did a bit of research and found that a vegan diet can have a positive effect on allergies and that beer should be avoided as well. It didn’t say whether or not we should avoid other alcoholic drinks but I presume that the alcohol wasn’t doing any good.

I am putting it down to my healthy vegan diet that has abolished my hay fever symptoms (Of course, this means excluding alcohol from the diet). This is the first year of my life that I can fully enjoy being outdoors during the summer and I am extremely grateful.🐤

-The Vegan Lily

6 thoughts on “Can a Vegan Diet Cure Hay Fever?

  1. I found out recently, from the NHS website, that alcohol is no good for hayfever sufferers – “Beer, wine and spirits contain histamine, the chemical that sets off allergy symptoms in your body. As well as making you more sensitive to pollen, alcohol also dehydrates you, making your symptoms seem worse.”

    Unfortunately I don’t think a vegan diet completely cuts out symptoms. I’ve been vegan for many years and I still get some ill effects when the blossoms are out. I do think it helps alleviate them though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

